Lab 8

Hello my loyal reader! Welcome to my first blog for Release 0.4. This week was a lottttt of researching and learning (and fear…). No seriously a lottttttttttt.

This time I am working on 3 different projects that are GitHub-Dashboard, filer  and  Mozilla.

For the GitHub-Dashboard project, I am working on creating a new home page for the application. In the beginning when I was looking for internal projects, I was scared to work on this one because of React. But I thought of challenging myself and learn something new. Luckily, I did some React work on the Creative-Collab project before. I am so glad that I took up this issue.

This came out to be a great learning curve during the DPS909 course. GitHub-Dashboard project helped me to get comfortable with taking up issues in new programming languages. I became more open and affective in my communication about the issues I had while working. I am still working on this PR and hopefully will get it done by this week.

The second project is filer where I am extending test cases for fs.access(). I started working on this issue during Release 0.3. I am still working on this issue as I felt I got a little side-tracked. I explored the adventures of other two issues, but I have started to work on it again.

For the final issue, I am working on Firefox ESLint bugs. I got so excited to work on such a big project but when it came to setting up the environment in my local machine, I struggled. I did not grasp the whole idea of how the set up is going to happen, but thanks to the open source community, I got many people to rescue me. While talking to my classmates, I realized that I was missing the step to install Homebrew on my computer.

Now that I have finally accomplished the setup, I will be working on fixing the issue in the coming week. Overall for the Release 0.4, I am super excited (and a bit scared..) as I feel I picked up issues that at first looked bigger-than-my-capacity. But I will get through them successfully!

Leave a comment